Dinner Trial: Enchiladas and slow cooker beans

So, it is very rare that I actually have an entire day off with not much to do. With my craving for enchilada’s and my curiosity to try something new I put together the idea of enchiladas and slow cooker beans. By no means is this recipe 100% authentic and I’m not claiming to have the best recipe but I am simply running a trial and error.  By the end of this post I will share my honest opinions on how today’s meal turned out and hopefully be able to share a new recipe that you can try at home. Below I have provided the ingredients that I used but I encourage you to alter as you please and put a personal spin on your own meal! 🙂

Let’s start with the enchiladas! So, it’s not much of a “secret recipe” I just learned the basics on how to make them years back and just kind of went with it. Today’s list of ingredients are:

IMG_5237

  • White corn tortillas. (I went with a low fat, cholesterol free 30 count)
  • (2) cans of green chile enchilada sauce (I used Las Palmas brand)
  • 4 large boneless and skinless chicken breast
  • (1) block of Monterey Jack Cheese
  • Olive Oil

I was able to make 30 enchiladas with this recipe!

Step 1: Cook the chicken in the oven on a baking sheet at 350 degrees for about 35 minutes or until completely white. Season with salt and pepper and drizzle olive oil over the top. Take chicken out and let cool for about 15 minutes.

Step 2: Begin shredding chicken and place in bowl. Also, in a separate bowl shred the block of cheese.

Step 3: In a large skillet warm up green chile sauce. (not too hot!)

Step 4: Create a station for yourself! Microwave your tortillas in a damp paper towel for about 35 seconds, I usually do about 5 at a time. Then separate your dishes starting with a baking pan sprayed with olive oil spray with the bottom covered in chile sauce, your bowl of shredded chicken, tortillas, and shredded cheese.

Step 5: Begin assembling your enchiladas! Dip tortilla into green sauce, put it baking dish, add desired cheese and chicken, then roll it up!IMG_5243

Step 6: After you have completed rolling up all of your enchiladas, drizzle a little bit of the green chile sauce over the top and top it off with some shredded cheese.

IMG_5244

Step 7: Put them in the oven for about 10-15 minutes or until the cheese has melted on the top and in the tortillas.

Step 8: Take them out of the oven and let them cool for about 10 minutes. Add on any condiments like sour cream or guacamole and enjoy!!

IMG_5246

May I have a side of beans, please?

I would be lying if I said I came up with the recipe of the beans by myself. Fortunately, Pinterest is my best friend and provided me with this awesome recipe! These do take a little longer and I actually prepped them the night before by soaking the overnight in warm water. I put them in the slow cooker at about 9:45am so they would be ready for dinner time. Here is the link that will help you make this awesome beans!

IMG_5236

The Verdict (enchiladas): The enchilada’s were delicious, not sure because I was craving them or because they actually were pretty good. I had my boyfriend try them and be the judge. He said what he liked best was the sauce we used had just enough kick, he said the chicken was a little dry but the sauce complimented it well. One thing he said to try next time was to make the tortilla a little crispier on the ends.

The Verdict (beans): The beans actually took a little longer than what the recipe had asked for (3 hours on high while two on low) For the last couple hours I put it on high and they cooked a little faster. I thought they were a little bland but hey, cheese is always good on beans! Also, next time I would personally add a little more garlic. I love garlic so, that’s just me. I would definitely make these again!

Leave a Reply

