Decisions, decisions…

I recently received a letter in the mail in regards to walking in the commencement ceremony for my community college. At first, I was very skeptical. Personally, I kind of wanted to because I’ve put a lot of hard work in these past few years. I asked friends and classmates to help weigh in on my pros and cons.  Some friends said that they didn’t think it was a good idea due to it only being community college and I was eventually going to have to walk again in a couple years for my bachelors. Others reminded me of the important reason; it was an achievement in life that I would regret if I didn’t take the opportunity.

It took me that time to hear both times to reach a decision. I realized that this decision was mine and only mine to decide. Thinking back of all of the stressful test, assignments, and how much these years at community college have helped me grow as a person it wasn’t such a hard decision anymore. Regardless if it’s just an associates degree, I am receiving two. Not to mention, I made dean’s list and I am graduating with a 3.6 GPA. Not to discourage anyone who chose not to walk, it’s just a personal preference. I know that I will walk again in a couple years when I receive my bachelors, but this is a celebration of my achievement and another milestone in my life.

There seems to be a lot of negative reputation behind community colleges and it’s actually really sad. If I were given the chance again as a senior in high school to decide which path to choose between a 4 year or a community college, without a doubt in my mind I would choose the same path. Besides the obvious reason of financials, which is really nice to be halfway done with school and have absolutely no student debt (since I only paid $23 a semester for my classes), it was just an overall better choice. It was about a 10 minute commute, I met friends, learned to be more independent, and was able to maintain a job and a relationship. Even though I didn’t have the stereotypical experience in a sorority, I’ve come to realize that those kind of things aren’t me and college is about finding yourself and that’s what I have done.

I will be walking along with fellow students on May 8th at 7pm. Stay tuned for pictures and another post! 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Pat Peters says:

    Brit,
    Your community college certainly developed your reasoning powers. Well done you! Grab all the walks you can when they present themselves. You earned it, and yes, you most likely will be doing it again in 2 years, but there are NO guarantees in life. So grab that A.A. and run!!!! All the best! Pat & Sierra

    1. Thank you so much, pat! It means a lot to me 🙂

Leave a Reply

