Today, I am grateful.

It is now November which means Thanksgiving is right around the corner. Thanksgiving is obviously the time where we spend time with family, eat a bunch of yummy food, and post things on social media about what we are grateful for. Why can’t we be grateful everyday? Not just the days where it’s expected, not only the days where something good happens– but everyday. I have made amends with myself that from here on out, I will think of three things that I am grateful for that day, everyday. By doing so, I hope to always be humbled, fully appreciate my blessings, and create a positive life for myself. I urge you to do the same.  Today, I thought I would share mine with you.

Today I am grateful for:

My Health: This is something that many overlook until something is wrong. We should all appreciate the good health most of us are in every day because some are not as fortunate as you. I chose this because of some great news I received today… Growing up, I always got the worst cramps during my period. To the point where Tylenol, heating pads, or any other remedy would not at all alleviate my pain. One night, a few years ago, I had an excruciating pain that was different from the rest. I knew something wasn’t right and went to the Emergency Room. I found out that night that I had cysts on my ovaries. Months later I went and had them checked again. I then found out that I had Polycystic cysts (which basically means I had multiple cysts on my ovaries) and they had grown and were borderline operable. Seeing this as an 18 year old was very scary.  I was given a higher dose of medication and was told to be more physically active to reduce them. Today, I had my check up once again. I learned that the cysts are completely gone. I cannot be more happy and grateful.

My Education: I remember as a child in elementary school always counting how many years I had left go going to school. When I was told that those many years I had just counted did not even include college, I was devastated. I will admit, I was never the best student in school. I struggled like no other in math and just didn’t love sit. Even though I hated high school, in my mind, there wasn’t any other option besides going to college after high school. This wasn’t forced upon me by anyone but myself. I am the type of person who very much believes in traditional motions. You go to college, you get a career, you get married, then you have a family. I am very much still on that track and am motivated to get my degree. Since I’ve left high school I’ve developed so much. I have never considered myself a good student until now. I am now the student that professors say “You don’t need to run your work by me, I know you’ll do fine.” School has helped me become independent and gain my own insights on the world. I am grateful for my education that I know does not come cheap these days.

My Job

This is kind of an odd one, but I am so very grateful. Most people going to school and working part-time usually hate their jobs. I am very fortunate enough to have a very flexible job that works with my school schedule. In addition, I work short shifts and earn commission on top of my hourly. Not only do I only am I able to work minimal hours to study and go to school but I have a decent paycheck that allows me to not have to worry about money and even build a savings account. Even though this is temporary until I am done with school, I could not be happier.

Leave a Reply

