One Month of Engagement

Time surely does fly. On the 10th, marked our 1 month of engagement! While it seems like just yesterday that the magical moment happened, here we are. I will be blogging monthly updates not only for your entertainment, but as a way to document this very exciting time in my life to look back at. Here is this month’s update…

What we’ve done:

We finished and posted our engagement/proposal video. We received an outpouring amount of love from friends, family, and people whom we don’t even know! I am blown away by how well everything was put together. Another thank you to our photographer, Michael Proa, for the amazing shots and footage. I still cry my eyes out watching it and watch it at least once a week. On our one month of engagement we put the video on my living room tv and watched it together. I cried, and tyler and I danced to the song together. It was so special, and I have a feeling it is going to be our new tradition. If you haven’t seen it or want to watch it again, here it is! πŸ™‚

The weekend after our engagement we went to Carlsbad to celebrate. We stood at the Hilton Garden Inn right on the beach. It was so much fun to swim in the ocean all day (fyi San Diego beaches are so much better than LA ones). Our room also got upgraded for free because we were celebrating our engagement, so we had a balcony with an ocean and courtyard view. There was a live band playing in the courtyard below us at night, so we got in our jammies, ordered pizza, drank wine, opened our balcony to hear/see the band, and danced and sang along.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR0427.
Carlsbad Engagement Getaway

We also went on our annual trip to Yosemite. My family rents cabins every year, so we always look forward to going. We hiked approximated 30 miles for the three days we were there, and boy were we exhausted. From crazy bike trails, to taking the wrong trails, to crazy raccoons it was an unforgettable trip. We cannot wait until next year!

IMG_0916
Yosemite 2016

There is a wedding venue that we have been eyeing for the last several months that we wanted to eventually look at when we became engaged. Since that time has come, we both decided that we would book a tour and see how we liked it in person. We went and absolutely fell in love. Green earthy backgrounds, outside garden reception, big bulbed hanging lights, roses, great food– Β It has everything that we wanted on our checklist and more. We were surprised to learn that it is all inclusive. Everything is included in the price from DJ to flowers to coordinators to the cake. I am a bride who wants minimal work for a beautiful day, and that’s what was being offered to me. We took my dad and Tyler’s mom back that following week where they also loved the place and booked our date. We are officially set to be married on our seven year anniversary, May 26, 2018. I admit, I was definitely stressing and a little nervous to book after only looking at one venue. However, the price range is incredible for the package and location we are getting and it’s just everything we could hope for. Plus, this is a high rated venue, so dates were already being booked for May of 2018. When you know, you know.

IMG_0970
Booking our venue!

My best friend put together the most incredible gift for the both of us. I cried reading her card and was reminded of how thankful I am to have a friend like her celebrating this moment along with us. She is so crafty, creative, and is going to make the best maid of honor πŸ˜‰

IMG_0960

I couldn’t have asked for a better time frame for Tyler to propose. We had time to celebrate, time to book our first-choice venue early, and now having the comfort and time to finish school. I couldn’t imaging getting married in 2017. I want to enjoy these moments and each step of preparing for our wedding and I don’t think I would’ve gotten that had I needed to plan a wedding for this upcoming year. You are only engaged for a small portion of your lives and we fully intend to enjoy this time- there is no need to rush πŸ™‚

We are both starting Fall semester in a couple weeks and it’s definitely bittersweet. While this Summer has been unforgettable, I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel towards getting my degree… Only TWO more semesters!!!! It’s going to be tough taking 22 units each quarter, however, I know I can do it!

Overall, month one is down and it has been such an exciting month. I love Tyler more and more everyday and can’t wait to see what other adventures come our way for this next month!

Until next time,

B

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

