Farewell 2016, Hello 2017.

2016 has flown by to say the least. Here we are on the last day of 2016 and I look back at my year and am so incredibly grateful. I keep seeing people complaining all over social media how terrible this past year has been– I hate to be that person, but it has been one of my best years yet. This year I…

  • got engaged
  • booked my wedding venue
  • got my first 4.0
  • took a trip to Seattle
  • hiked 16 miles in a day in Yosemite
  • bought the Canon rebel T6i
  • didn’t renew my Disneyland pass for the first time in 4 years
  • moved from my childhood house with my dad to a new home
  • went to a spontaneous Lumineers concert
  • did my first photography gig (maternity shoot)
  • went to my first winery
  • almost went on a hot air balloon

Last year Tyler and I recorded a video on New Year’s Eve talking about our hopes for 2016, here is something I put together sharing our year. I wouldn’t have been able to put this video together if Tyler and I did not vlog on our free time. Some people think it’s weird talking to a camera and recording your life, but here is the beauty your are able to look back and remember. As the clips shown in this video are snippets taken from many of our vlogs, you can watch them in full and subscribe to our Youtube channel here to be notified every time we post a video and stay up to date on our life!

2017 is going to be a year of many changes and I am so excited for what it holds. In just a few months I will be graduating college, later on this year be moving out to live on my own, and we will be making finishing touches on our wedding planning to prepare for our big day in 2018, just to name a few.Here are some of my resolutions for 2017.

Trust that everything happens for a reason

More than anything, this year has made it so very clear to me that things happen the way they are supposed to. Friends, events, and decision. There are friends who have left my life in 2016 that I didn’t expect to. However, like they say, when one door closes others open. I have made such incredible friendships this year that will last me a lifetime.You only need the people in your life who want to be in yours and only add positivity. ALWAYS remember that. You deserve nothing less than what you deserve. I have always believed that everything happens for a reason. Our decisions, events, and other things that we would consider downfalls are only rerouting us to the path we were always supposed to be on. So, this year I need to remind myself not to be discouraged by those “setbacks” and keep faith that there is something better coming my way.

Losing Weight

SO cliche, I know. Being a college student is tough. Not only that, but I have a wedding coming up! I usually work a few times a week at 5 a.m., then immediately go home and study, then head straight to school until 9pm. Needless to say, during these crazy times, I don’t make time for exercise, I eat unhealthy, and don’t get enough sleep- the recipe for weight gain. I am graduating in May and fully intend to make exercise a priority in my schedule and pre-pack healthy meals for school rather than buying fast food at school or continuously snacking. I love my body, but I know that losing a few pounds will ultimately be better for my health and will help me look even more beautiful in my wedding dress!!!

Save Money

Working part-time and going to school full-time as many know makes you feel, well, broke. It’s hard to buy groceries, buy books, pay for school expenses, and want to do fun things with my minimal income. While I commend myself for putting away a good amount of money considering the amount I make, there’s always room for improvement. Since I’m planning on moving out after graduation and getting a full-time job, this is a crucial time where I need to be smarter with money and really tell my money where to go.

Enjoy this time of being engaged

You are only engaged for such a small time and I don’t think a lot of people really enjoy this time. I was Tyler’s girlfriend for 5 1/2 years and will be his wife for the rest of my life. Being engaged is such a blissful time. Being that we have a longer engagement makes me so excited. We have so many adventures in our future and it makes me smile just thinking about it. Soon we will looking for our first place together, making big purchases together, and just doing life together before we are officially husband and wife. In this year I hope to continue to travel and keep up our spontaneous adventures and just embrace each other.

2016 has been quite the year and looking back makes my heart so full of all that I accomplished. It’s going to be hard to top, but I know 2017 will do me well.

Leave a Reply

